Following the news that the morning-after pill will be made available over-the-counter, without the need of a doctor’s prescription, I decided to share my views on this highly-sensitive topic.

Ok, so I know that there are lots of different opinions and mixed feelings about this. And I’m sure that there will be quite a lot of people out there who will strongly disagree with me.

So, to start off with, I want to make it crystal clear that I am totally against abortion. It is a despicable act which, to me, can be classified under murder. The killing of a developed, innocent, human being; of a new living thing.

In my opinion, there’s no excuse whatsoever. Either both parties (a couple) are fully aware of what they are getting into – both willing and ready to have kids – otherwise use contraceptives, or abstain from sexual intercourse altogether (since there is no such thing as safe sex). It’s that simple. Don’t give me that “I was drunk that night, we didn’t know what we were doing” bullshit. Or that it was “a mistake”. That just shows a lack of responsibility and attention. Pure carelessness.

However, all this being said, let’s just assume for a second that “a mistake” did happen. That the couple were absolutely inebriated one evening, and had sex. But, they aren’t ready to start a family yet. I personally believe that both the man and woman (especially the woman) should have a choice of whether to keep the child or not. How about those women who are raped, and get pregnant as a result of that? Shouldn’t they have the same option, too?

This falls under the ‘live and let live’ mentality. One’s freedom of choice. Again I stress that I am fully against the act of abortion. But then again, who am I to stop others from doing their thing? Be it right or wrong, why shouldn’t a couple be free to make their own choice in life?

Therefore, I agree with the morning-after pill being legalised and made available for those who wish to make use of it.

– Preston Carbonaro


http://www.timesofmalta.com/articles/view/20161017/local/morning-after-pill-to-be-sold-over-the-counter.628264

