Weighing in at 56 kg – which, at my age, is considered to be in the “normal weight” range according to the BMI calculator –  I’ve been trying different ways to try to gain some muscle mass. And I don’t want to be the next Arnold Schwarzenegger or Sylvester Stallone, either, if you’re wondering. I just want to build some lean muscle, beef up a little.

However, due to me being very busy throughout the week with my refereeing duties, together with cardio training every week to keep fit, I haven’t had much success so far. The fact that I am a “hard-gainer” doesn’t help, too.

I didn’t give up, though! And that’s why I am here today. After months of researching various different meal plan suggestions, I have recently come up with my own, which I’ve started following since last week. And I plan to stick with it.

Here it is!

For breakfast:

  • Eggs
  • Oatmeal
  • Fruit

For lunch:

  • Chicken, lettuce, bacon and mayo wrap (Note: for those who like avocados – which are a source of healthy fats – by all means, feel free to put some in your wrap.)

a35dbb50-42a9-449f-8f8a-5b6fe4672941

or, for a better combination of proteins and carbohydrates:

  • Tuna or chicken breast with rice or pasta (Note: splash some olive oil, and add some cheese to any of the dishes, if you wish. I would also suggest adding kidney beans, which are a great source of protein.)

For dinner:

  • Beef or salmon with boiled/roasted potatoes, rice, or bread (Note: again, feel free to splash some olive oil with your meals.)

Snacks:

  • Peanut butter
  • Greek yoghurt
  • Nuts (almonds, pistachios, etc.)
  • Mass gainer protein shake
  • Whole milk
  • Cereal (muesli, oats, etc.)
  • Fruit

… And there you have it.

This plan defines my exact thoughts on nutrition and eating. The “quality not quantity”, “it’s not how much you eat, it’s what you eat that matters” philosophy, which I am a firm believer in.

Last but not least, if anyone has any suggestions of how to make this plan better, as always, I am open to feedback. I would be interested to hear, and perhaps incorporate, them into it.

– Preston Carbonaro

