Although I complain a lot about the poor level and quality of football in our country, I am very glad to say that I’ve never, so far, had an incident where racism took place during any of my matches over the past 2 and a half years (thankfully!).

The Italian Football Federation, though, should be ashamed of themselves! How can a player with dark skin be racially abused, and yet be treated as the “bad guy”?! Sulley Muntari, currently plying his trade for Italian Serie A side Pescara, was shown the yellow card for so-called dissent, after telling a match official that he was being insulted by the opposing team’s supporters. He was then subsequently cautioned a second time, sent off, and given a one match ban for leaving the pitch in protest after finally having had enough of the racist comments.

Would you blame a person for reacting this way? Because I sure as hell would’ve done the same thing that he did, if I was a player. And, heck, if I was refereeing, I would’ve stopped the match completely.

I sincerely hope that the ban will be withdrawn, some sort of action will be taken against Cagliari’s racist hooligans, and that Muntari will receive an apology from the Serie A disciplinary committee for such a disgraceful decision.

– Preston Carbonaro


 

http://www.timesofmalta.com/articles/view/20170503/sport/watch-gutless-italian-football-bosses-slammed-for-muntari-ban.646964

