The ‘P’ word.

Politics.

Maltese politics, to be more specific. The dirtiest of them all.

A subject which I thought and hoped I’d never have to write about. Yet, here I am.

For those who don’t know, the general election is just around the corner. On the 3rd of June. Until that day arrives, though, it’s a time of name-calling, accusations, lies, empty promises, and fake news.

But, unlike others, I’m not here to tell you which party I side with, or who I’m going to vote for. For the simple reason that nobody contesting this election, I believe, is capable of leading this country.

Instead, I’m here to talk about something which I hate to see during this time.

And that thing is when parents take their kids to the stupid political mass meetings of propaganda.

Poor, innocent children, who have absolutely no interest, and no understanding whatsoever of what their purpose is at such gatherings. What a bore it must be for them. Not to mention the bad influences that they are exposed to whilst they’re there. The second-hand smoke, people binge-drinking, the foul language. And that claustrophobic feeling, having to be among the flock of sheep.

But what do the parents care, right? As long as they are having fun, waving their silly banners around, that’s all that matters. Screw the rest, right?

– Preston Carbonaro

