We visited Los Cristianos, today, strolled by the beach, and looked around in various different shops, mainly trying to find a football t-shirt to buy, for myself, as is customary whenever I go abroad. This time, since I was in Tenerife, I wanted a Club Deportivo Tenerife shirt.

The search was unsuccessful, though, as nobody seemed to have a football shirt of their own island’s team, in Los Cristianos. Can you believe that?! Having football kits of other more popular Spanish teams like Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, and Barcelona, but not of Tenerife! Until this one guy tells us about a shop in the town of San Eugenio who’s likely to have some. Long story short, we get there, and I managed to get the t-shirt I wanted!

Not only that, but, whilst there, I also got my hands on what’s been the latest craze these past few months – a nice, black, classy fidget spinner.

20170605_19440420170605_19452720170606_025417

 

For lunch, we went to this really nice and unique restaurant called El Cordero (which means “The Lamb”). It is because of this huge topiary, located just outside the establishment, that the restaurant got its name:

18983077_10209669106220187_1066387453_n
El Cordero topiary

This place looks super cool inside! The whole area used to be a banana plantation, however, the owners changed the trees, kept the sandy floor and the plantation structure, then converted it into a restaurant.

20170605_155559
Inside of El Cordero

Another funny and unique thing about this place is that, after you’ve paid, before leaving, you can take some bananas (free of charge!) from a basket by the till. These bananas are from the owners’ personal banana plantation right behind the restaurant.

 

Later on, this being our last evening here in the Canary Islands, my uncle and I went to watch my other uncle play live at the Plaza del Duque. Things got a bit emotional towards the end, as he dedicated his last song of the evening – “You Are So Beautiful” by Joe Cocker – to us.

– Preston Carbonaro

