An advertising billboard for local restaurant chain New York Best sparked controversy, over the weekend, due to it depicting Da Vinci’s “The Last Supper” with a satirical twist – Christ and his disciples feasting on burgers, pizza, and hot dogs, and drinking milkshakes.

19437666_10158954574360707_1420491621820614273_n

I honestly do not see what’s so wrong about this. If anything, I think it was a clever, original, and funny idea to come up with.

The real funny thing, though? It’s the hypocrites that this damn country is full of.

First, the people who were so “offended” by this advert for “insulting” and “ridiculing” their religion, are probably the same so-called “devout Catholics” who blaspheme at least once or twice in every sentence.

Secondly, and probably the most ridiculous of all, is that the day after this billboard was put up, a certain Henry Battistino vandalised the poster by peeling off the part where Jesus appears. Not only that, but he shared pictures of the act on Facebook, claiming that “I saw our Lord, who died to save us, ridiculed to sell some pizza and chips” and “I tried to speak with the owners but was coldly and arrogantly told to send him an e-mail. My faith is stronger than any man-made law and I can never agree with the removal of vilification of religion [as a criminal act]”. Here comes the hilarious part (not in a good way). Henry Battistino, my dear friends, is the leader of the “Moviment Patrijotti Maltin” (“Maltese Patriots Movement”), the same guy who came up with the bright idea of selling pork sandwiches as a “protest against Muslims”. Remember that? Yep, the same friggin’ racist low-life.

To close this post off, I just wanted to say how much I admire the New York Best owner – Tommy Diacono – for the way he handled the whole situation. When speaking to the Times of Malta, Mr. Diacono said he had received lots of threats and abuse in anonymous calls and messages since the controversy began but he did not intend to press for prosecution. “I have the right to do so but I’m going to rise above it,” he said. “First of all, because they’re not worth my time and also because I want to give an example and turn the other cheek.” Ultra cool, if you ask me. Although, knowing me and my wanting to make a point, I probably would’ve pressed for prosecution.

– Preston Carbonaro

