2019 in Review, and Looking Ahead to 2020

After several weeks of writer’s block, I felt I had to come here and at least try to write something. Even if it’s just a couple of lines…

I am sitting alone in my room, with Robbie Williams’ rendition of If I Only Had a Brain playing in the background on my Google Play Music page. It’s at quiet times like these where I am able to reflect on things.

So, I am sitting here thinking about what a year this has been. Thinking about how, in just a few days, we will not only be starting a new year, but also a new decade.

Generally, I’d say that 2019 has been a fairly good year for me.

I left my old job at Evolution Gaming in search of a career which gave me a sense of accomplishment and satisfaction. As luck would have it, approximately a month later, I was accepted at a nearby school on what was my first-ever teaching experience. I started out as a sports playworker for the summer months, then after seeing how well that went, I decided to stay on for the rest of the scholastic year. My duties now involve taking on one-to-one cases with students who have learning difficulties, and even taking charge of classes, helping them out during their homework session and organising all sorts of activities for them. It feels great to finally do something which is so gratifying, in an environment where I truly feel respected, appreciated, and loved!

When it comes to another passion of mine – drama – 2019 has also brought with it great opportunities.

Earlier this year, in April, I had the absolute pleasure of working with a talented group of young people in Birgu’s edition of Jesus Christ Superstar; by far the most physically demanding and active performance I’ve ever been involved in. While this experience further confirmed that nobody will ever see me on an episode of Dancing with the Stars anytime soon, it was thrilling to have been a part of one of my favourite musicals of all time.

More recently, as you’ve probably read in previous blog posts, I landed my biggest role in a theatrical production in my six years of acting so far. The part of Billy Gray in The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?, which was another big challenge, yet a huge success.

So what does 2020 have in store?

Simply put: more of the same, I hope!

More good memories, more positive experiences and opportunities to learn from and write about, and more success in whatever I do.

Whether it’s a new book (or several dozen) which I just bought, a novel which has made an impact on me, an adventure I’m about to embark on, a witty and quirky phrase I come up with, or a good old fashioned rant about something which raises my hackles, you’ll know all about it right here on See. Think. Write.

Here’s to a more productive, pleasant, and prosperous 2020!

Best wishes to you all, dear readers, for the Yuletide period and for the upcoming new year!

Warmest regards,

– Preston

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑